reading in April

So, I’m late again with my book update. For now, I am just going to be happy that it is getting up at all.

Kisses From Katie

This was an amazing book about a girl who went to Uganda and ended up with 14 girls and a ministry that helps get impoverished children into school as well as a meals and showers.  Her focus on Jesus as she walked through each new trial was so inspiring. I went back and forth from tears of joy and excitement to tears of discouragement as I read because this is the kind of life I had always imagined for myself growing up. But even as I read she was constantly reminding me of God’s sovereignty through the joyful and hard times of life and I came away so blessed and challenged to live every moment to bring the love of Jesus to those around me. Many missionary books can be more about the work and adventure, but this one was saturated no by the work Katie is doing but by the work Jesus is doing in her life and in those around her. Great Read!!!

 

Lost in the Middle

Ok, so I haven’t finished this book and no I am not going through a midlife crisis, but Phil Sasser gave it to me and it might be one of the most encouraging books I have read in a couple of years.  It just talks about dealing with life when it doesn’t turn out exactly like you planned.  Definantly don’t wait for midlife to read this book. I will try to put up a few more excerpts as I read it, but here is one I read today.

The problem is not that you are demanding too much from God; the problem is that tragically, you are willing to settle for far to little. Our dreams are puny in comparison with the amazing things Gods wants for us. God’s “dream” stretches from before the foundation of the earth through human history and on into eternity. It includes the ultimate war and the greatest victory. it solves your greatest problem and gives you reason to get up in the morning with hope. It guarantees your place in the most magnificent celebreation in the universe. It imparts stunning wisdom and gorgeous love. God’s dream fixes what has been broken and reconciles what has been divided. It unites you with the Lord Creator, the Sovereign Savior, the Great I Am. It is more than you could ever ask for, bigger than our biggest dreams, and beyond the furthest reaches of our imaginations. It assures us that we will be liberated from personal slavery and unalterable personal destruction. Yet, in our blindness we are more attracted to our little self-designated dreams, and we experience great personal anguish when they slip through our hands.

Audio Books:

Martin Luther’s Commentary on Galations

This was also from a reading list I got from Phil Sasser (I will try to post that later). It was really good and remarkably easy to listen to and understand. I now see everything I look at through through law and grace. I was blessed  and hope you will be too. This book is free on librivox.org and though it has several different readers none of them are bad.

 

The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy

Ok, so this book has no real eternal value, but is just a great and fun read…or in this case listen. I have read this book numerous times and it is a fun adventure about a man who helps french aristocrats escape the guillotine during the french revolution. This version is free on librivox.org…if you click on the picture it will take you to a version recorded all by the same reader and she is VERY good!

Leave a Reply

