the blessings of going back home

My whole family was soooooo (yes I am one of those dorks who puts lots of ooooooo’s) blessed to be able to go back home to North Caroline to spend a week with our family and friends. The opportunity to go, just came up out of now where and we jumped at the chance. It was a straight through 30 hour drive to get back, but we made it in time for Silas’ 5th  birthday party. John and Deana didn’t tell the kids we were coming so it was fun to be their surprise. Through Silas touts that he knew we were coming all along.

It was a very busy week, but it was so great catching up with my brothers and their families. I got to spend several days at John and Deana’s and played a new train game that I liked a lot and I don’t usually like playing games all that much. I also got to hang out a couple of nights with Nick and Ashley as well. It was so great to hear their testimonies of how God has been working in their lives through this extremely difficult year. Nick has been in and out of the hospital and suffering so much more than I can even imagine, but they continue to hold strong in their faith that God is good and His providence is at work through it all.  Nick got called in for his last surgery the day we planned to leave so we stayed an extra day to be at the hospital with him and Ashley for the surgery. I have never spent much time at the hospital, but it was an eye opening experience. I’m not saying I have any idea what it has been like for them this past year, but I think I have a much better idea now and am much more passionate and informed in my prayers for them both. Please keep Nick in your prayers that this recovery time will go quickly and he will be able to function well with his newly attached intestine for the future!

We were also blessed to meet with our pastors and be blessed by their love, care and wisdom for our family. I have never felt safer emotionally or spiritually than I did sitting in that room with those men. God is so good to give us friends and family who love us as they do!!! To everyone back at Sovereign Grace, don’t ever take for granted what amazing leadership you have!

Well, I will leave you with some fun pictures of us hanging out with family land friends, though somehow the kids managed to obtain most of my camera time…they are just so cute and growing up soooooo (there it is again) fast.  Book A Month review is LATE but coming soon! More updates on the Ranch kids coming soon also!  Love …..

4 thoughts on “the blessings of going back home

  1. “I don’t usually like playing games all that much”…?
    I remember you very much liking beating me at Dutch Blitz/Nertz/pounce.

    • haha…that’s true, Nertz is a different story. I did like beating you at that, but even more when we were teamed up and beat everyone else. Maybe some day we can get some of the old group together and play again. I miss hanging out with you all!

  2. Hey Missy, we are so grateful to you for posting pictures for us to see our family in NC – what a blessing for us. Our prayers continue for your missionary journey as a family, and for protection from the enemy as you minister in Mexico. GOD BLESS YOU – Grandpa & Grandma Schlax

    • Thank you Grandma and Grandpa. I am so glad you enjoyed the pictures, I put up a few more that I forgot to put up the last time. They only thing that would have made it better would have been to have you guys there also! I know the boys wish they could see you guys more. We love you both so much and are so grateful for your prayers, we need and feel them every day! Thank you for always being so encouraging and loving to us all! I love you!

Leave a Reply

