reading and accountability

I love to read, but so many times I get tired or distracted and just don’t sit down to enjoy a good book. A couple years ago I had a friend and we made a commitment to read at least one book a month that year. I was amazed that when I was actually committed to reading through a book quickly that instead of just one book, many times I finished two or three.

Since then my reading has slowed to an almost halt. I think I finished maybe four or five real books last year. I have also found that since moving away from my home church in Raleigh, NC I am not as challenged to read “hard” books. I am so thankful to my pastors and especially Michael Stalker (my singles leader) for always pushing us to read things outside of our normal reading levels.

So, all that to say that I would like to start reading AT LEAST one book a month again and was wondering if anyone out there would like to start an online reading accountability. We could commit to blog about or e-mail each other a quick report/overview whatever of the book we read by the end of the month. I know my weaknesses and personal discipline is not one of them. So let me know if you would like to help me to grow in grace and discipline by joining with me in this. You can e-mail me at mschlax(at)gmail(dot)com.

My February reading is Give Them Grace, Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson.

Book Recommendations (from last years reading)

The Reason for God by Timothy Keller
I actually read this book because a friend wanted accountability to read it. I haven’t read many books on apologetics but I was very surprised at how easy he was to understand even when he was explaining some complex issues that in the past have usually gone a little over my head. The has several GREAT chapters near the end on sin and living the christian life that blessed me soooo much.

Confessions by Saint Augustine
Ok so this was the harder book I took on last year. I found it at the thrift store and I always hear pastors quoting him so I thought I would try it. I was happy to find that while a few of the concepts he addresses went over my head they book was very readable. I love how he traces the grace of God through his entire life and the way he calls to you  to live unreservedly for God. I think I need to read it like six more times to begin to understand the depth of some of his statements, but I was blessed even by my limited understanding of it.

I found so many inspiring quotes and couldn’t pick one so I just opened up the book and found this part highlighted. It challenged me anew as I read it and I want to share it with you.

My soul, you too must listen to the word of God. Do not be foolish; do not let the din of your folly deafen the ears of your heart. For the Word himself calls you to return. In him is the place of peace that cannot be disturbed, and he will not withhold himself from your love unless you withhold you love from him(?). In this world one thing passes away so that another may take its place and the whole be preserved in all its parts. But do I pass away elsewhere? says the Word fo God. Make your dwelling in him, my soul. Entrust to him whatever you have, for all that you have is from him. Now, at last, tired of being misled, entrust to the Truth all that the Truth has given to you and nothing will be lost. All that is withered in you will be made to thrive again. All your sickness will be healed. your mortal body will be refashioned and renewed and firmly bound to you, and when it dies it will not drag you with it to the grave, but will endure and abide with you before God,  who abides and endures for ever.

2 thoughts on “reading and accountability

  1. That sounds like fun. That’s the book that is next on my reading list too (Give Them Grace). I’ve got it sitting in on my Amazon Wishlist, just waiting on a redeemed GC to get it. I’d love to hear what you think of GTG too as you read it.

    I’ve been trying to read two books a month (one fiction/literature and one “spiritual” one). Mainly because I have a stack of 6-7 books I’ve started for a Keepers lesson but never finished. Almost finished with re-reading Stepping Heavenward which I found at the thrift store a few weeks ago. Just finished Speaking the Truth in Love and The Help in Dec./Jan.

    I’d have to email or FB. No blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

