life is good

I am sitting in the office waiting for lunch time to roll around. Lunch isn’t served till 2:00 after the children get out of school and always seems so long in the coming. There are projects to work on everywhere I look and some days it seems that for every thing I get done, two more pop out of nowhere. Usually they are not new projects, just old ones I have put off till I have more time and some object or other that is lying around will remind me of my procrastination.

But life is good. I can hear the kids cheering at P.E. class across the compound and the beautiful fall weather and sunlight are streaming through the office door. I had a day off yesterday and finally got all my winter clothes out of the box and my summer clothes packed away. I even put up a few christmas decorations. They make my little room feel so homey and warm. The kids saw the string of lights hanging on the wall and though I had not finished I couldn’t get the door closed because the girls were squealing with delight at just the sight of them. I can’t wait to start decorating their rooms at the end of the week! Life is Good!

I have been reading the story of Lillian Thrasher who started an orphanage in Egypt and her faith is inspiring. She never knew where the next meal was coming from, but always stepped out in faith that the Lord would provide and He always did. I am excited about how the Lord has grown me in my faith over the last couple years and can’t wait to experience His future provisions. God is so good and we are so blessed.

Along with my bible reading I have also been reading several other books the last couple months. Andrew Murray’s Absolute Surrender, Jonathan Edwards on True Christianity and Josh Harris’s Dug Down Deep. These along with messages from John Piper, Sovereign Grace Church Cross of Grace, El Paso have all just been coming together in harmony as the Lord is teaching me to deny myself and pour out everything I have for Him. I have so far to go and I know my selfishness and pride holds me back, but I thank the Lord that He doesn’t give up on us when we don’t get it right the first time, but with the next scripture, book, or sermon He gently pushes us back towards Him. I would recommend all these resources and can’t tell you what a blessing they have been in my life. What did we do before IPods?

I have been doing memory verses with the girls and it has been such a blessing. I have been wanting to memorize scripture in Spanish for over a year now, but as I practice and listen to the girls, I have been learning along with them. One of the little girls is too young to learn the same as the others, but it is so cute to watch her try. She will try to say it with me and as I say “No salga de vuestra boca ninguna palabra mala.” She will say “ga tra boca na ba mala” It is too cute.

OK, gotta go for today. We will see if I can keep this up, but I am hoping to just write whatever pops in to my head in an attempt to keep up more often on this blog. Sometimes my need to plan and have everything just write (pictures and all) just means it never gets done. Better random thoughts than nothing at all…right?

2 thoughts on “life is good

  1. So exciting to hear what God is doing in your life. And I just LOVE hearing about the kids at the ranch 🙂

    I love you Missy!
    PS: I am the same way about blogging… wanting to have it all perfect first. Guess I should follow your example and just write something.

Leave a Reply

