Camp-Out at the Arnolds

camping-1.jpg

This past weekend our singles group went on a camping event/retreat. We were in the far corner of the Arnold’s back yard so I don’t know if most would actually even call it a camping trip, but we had a good ol’ time anyways. Friday night we enjoyed roasted hot dogs and smoores as Steve led us in discussing how God is reflected in creation around us. Saturday morning Chuck talked about finding our joy in God alone and referenced one of my favorite verses from Philippians.

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:4-7

Saturday afternoon we went hiking at Raven Rock. Luckily for Hannah and I, it was more like a nature walk. The trees were still kind of bare, but there was still so much of God’s creation to see. It was a great follow up to Steve’s discussion as we had so much around us to remind of God’s power and creative design. After that Sarah took us off road (well, down a dirt road) to a place where a creek runs over all these large flat rocks and we got out to run around in the water. It was great fun!

Later that evening we enjoyed steak and baked potatoes (I helped cook the potatoes over the fire!). Matt spoke about recounting God’s faithfulness and shared from the Psalms, but I don’t remember which one. We also had a great time of worship and praising God for his faithfulness in our lives. It was a weekend of fun and a time of meeting the Lord as He was so faithful to gently remind me of the lessons he has been teaching me over the last few months. I had begun to let go and haven’t been pressing into the Lord as much lately and He was so faithful to orchestrate the devotional times to refocus me on the areas he has been working in my life. So praise to our faithful God and thank you to Matt, Chuck and Steve for being faithful to follow the Lord’s leading.

I hope you enjoy these pictures from the weekend.

Camping Trip Pictures

14 thoughts on “Camp-Out at the Arnolds

  1. FYI you mispelled steak and potatoe. It made me laugh.

    Thanks for the recount of our weekend. 🙂 I enjoyed being with you young lady.

  2. I just look at your pictures. Picture 63 is my favorite. With Andrew, Sarah and I.

    Your the best smellling picture taker lady I’ve ever met.

  3. Hannah,
    Have you ever thought of putting it all in one comment? Not that I mind of anything…I like haveing lots of comments. I guess you just can’t plan that far ahead.
    Love ya for it, but couldn’t resist giving you a hard time.

  4. Miss Hannah Grammar Lady,
    Actually, “your” is a possessive adjective, so I believe you mean “you’re just a picture taker lady” =P
    But then again, I am in a country where they spell everything with extra u’s in the middle (behaviour, Saviour) and s’s instead of z’s (civilised, organised) and say things like “you could do” if you suggest something, or randomnly leave out words in sentences, like “I couldn’t hear what you said because that person was shouting me”… so I guess I shouldn’t say anything.
    Great pictures, Missy, by the way! 🙂

  5. 83 pictures for how many hours!!!!? I think I took three. But then again part of that reason was because I knew you would take alot and I like your pictures better than mine anyways 🙂 It was a great weekend..a little oasis in the middle of chaos…and the discussions on taking time to reflect on God and the need to fight for joy in the midst of daily life were very timely reminders to start this week with…thanks Missy for helping shop and put this weekend together 🙂

Leave a Reply

