Final 4, El Rodeo, The Beach

Ok, so it’s been a crazy couple of months and I didn’t exactly keep up with it much on this blog. I hit the highlight (Baby Silas), but there were a couple other nice little diversions from normal life.

I filled out a basketball bracket…I got seven out of the eight and three out of the final four…which isn’t bad considering I have no clue what I am doing and won’t even get to see a single game. Phil and Bethany were proud of me. I picked Florida to win, I guess we will see how far my I go.

In bigger news I got to go to a rodeo with my family back in February. Lots of Fun! They had everything, bull riding, bronc riding, steer wrestling, calf roping, and barrel racing. I was reliving my childhood dreams of bring a cowgirl. (Yes, I did wear my boots…but not the shirt and am still working on finding the right hat.) I know, secretary, photographer and wanna-be cowgirl…interesting combination. Anyways, we all had a great time and my parent, who have been to lots of rodeos when they were younger, explained it all to us as it went. For those of you who don’t already know…my mom used to race barrels in the rodeo when she was in high school. I’m rather proud of that fact. Somehow I think it gives me greater claim to holding on to my western roots.

rodeo-7.jpgrodeo-1.jpgrodeo-2.jpgrodeo-3.jpgrodeo-4.jpgrodeo-5.jpgrodeo-6.jpg

We also went to the beach while my uncle was here. It was a short (and cold) trip that we spent mostly indoors just looking at the beach. It was too windy even to play in the sand. We had all these grand plans of building some huge sculpture on the beach…we hadn’t decided yet, but a vw bug and a snow man were top of the list. I don’t actually have many pictures of us…just the sunset and a few random pictures. (I have to get better at the family vacation pictures…I just get to relaxing and forget.) The crazy part was when we got up the first morning to find that all the plants in front of our rental place were icicles. Our yard was the only one that had the sprinklers on and it had been below freezing the night before. It was pretty funny to walk out the front door on our beach vacation and find a field of icicles. (pictures below) We also checked out the wind surfer shop and got to see several of the guys fly past the house . I think I will add that to my list of things to try someday.
crw_7005-01.jpgcrw_7037-01.jpgcrw_7042-01.jpgcrw_7034-01.jpgcrw_7022-01.jpg

2 thoughts on “Final 4, El Rodeo, The Beach

  1. For the record I love you just the way you are. You wouldn’t be Missy if you were actual goood at something.

    That having been said, I enjoyed your pictures.

  2. I say with Hannah, “Great pictures Melissa!” Hmm, cowgirl? I hope you find that right hat and live your dreams. Then when we all get to heaven we can delight in how good God was to us while we walked upon this earth for 70 years, or perhaps 80, and how good He will continue to be to us for all eternity. Let us praise the most wonderful name of Jesus forever!

Leave a Reply

