What Matters Most

“What matters is not that we do all we might have done or all we dreamed of doing, but that, while we live, we live by faith in future grace and walk in the path of love. The times are in God’s hands, not ours.” – John Piper

This is a quote from a letter John Piper wrote to his wife on the occasion of their adopting a daughter from China. He was refering to the fact that they might not be able to give her the perfect life they dreamed of giving her, but that by doing what God called them to, by His grace, they could bring glory to God and a better life to their new daughter.

Though I am not currently able to consider adoption, this quote really spoke to me about the way I sometimes approach life. It is so easy for me to get caught up in what I want to do with my life, that I am tempted to live for those goals and not for what God has for me today. God’s goal in my life is not for an orphanage or marriage, but for me to live each day in faith for His future grace. If I am delighting in my God and living for His glory, it won’t really matter what the future holds because I know He will mold my will to be able to fully embrace whatever he calls me to.
It is such a simple lesson, but I have to be reminded of it over and over. My prayer is that God will use this season of my life to help me grow in my love for my Him, His word, my family and my local church. The first chatachism says that “The chief end of man is to glorify God and enjoy him forever.”

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matt. 6.33

3 thoughts on “What Matters Most

  1. Melissa,

    Thank you for posting this; I am studying the Catechisms in Bible this year, and exploring the meanings of them. This post really encourages me and uplifts me. Thank you for being open to share about your personal life. It really encourages me. Thanks.

    By His Grace and His Glory,

    Caitlin

  2. “The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.” -Prov. 16:9

    “Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.” -Ps. 73:25

    Great post! May you nor I nor anyone reading this have a passion for anything; whether it be missions, taking care of the poor, or any other good thing; that is not for His sake and coming from a passion for Him alone.

Leave a Reply

