When Faith Sleeps

Thy bounteous goodness has helped me believe,
but my faith is weak and wavering,
its light dim,
its steps tottering,
its increase slow,
its backslidings frequent;
It should scale the heavens but lies groveling in the dust.
Lord, fan this divine spark into glowing flame.
When faith sleeps, my heart becomes an unclean thing,
the fount of every loathsome desire,
the cage of unclean lusts
all fluttering to escape,
the noxious tree of deadly fruit,
the open wayside of earthly tares.
Lord, awake faith to put forth its strength
until all heaven fills my soul
and all impurity is cast out.
– Valley of Vision

This puritan prayer is really the cry of my heart this week. I love the language of the puritans and it feels as though the writer has seen into my heart and somehow put its deceitfulness on paper. I am so thankful that he doesn’t stop there, but starts by reminding me of God’s sovereignty and ends with hope by reminding my that he has the power to increase my faith to conquer these sins.

So tonight I pray as the puritan did…
“Lord awake faith to put forth its strength, until all heaven fills my soul and all impurity is cast out.”

I pray that this poem/prayer blesses you as it did me.

Leave a Reply

