Talking Potsherds

Isaiah 45.9-12
Woe to him who quarrels with his Maker, to him who is but a potsherd among potsherds on the ground. Does the clay say to the potter, “What are you making?” Does your work say “He has no hands.”…Concerning things to come, do you question me about my children, or give me orders about the work of my hands? It is I who made the earth and created mankind upon it. My own hands stretched out the heavens; I marshaled the stary host.

The other day I was struggling with being content with how life was going. (Don’t get me wrong…my life is about as close to perfect as it could get, but I have had specific plans that I really struggle with God’s timing on. And…no…it wasn’t marriage.) So there I was complaining to God, when he directed me to this verse. What a slap in the face. I wonder at my audacity…coming before God and implying that he isn’t doing a good enough job with my life. It was so good to be reminded that the Maker of the universe has perfectly planed out my life from eternity past. He knew what kind of person I would be…my strengths and my failings. He knew what my dreams would be. He knew how I would struggle. And in his infinite knowledge he has put right where I am to live my life to His glory. It isn’t about me or my plans…it is about using the time God has given me where ever I am to bring Glory to His name.

“God give us all the grace to look past our circumstances to you and even if we can’t see your big picture, to trust that your plans are perfect.”

4 thoughts on “Talking Potsherds

  1. “Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but is is the purpose of the Lord that will stand” -Prov. 19:21

    I have also recently been repenting and reminding myself that I am where God has sovereignly placed me for His good pleasure in regards to my job and place to live. I was lamenting earlier over the thought of living far away from UNC when an option for a house in Apex came up because I was planning to minister here since I still know tons of people here, but I know that if I end up somewhere else God will open doors for ministry there as well.

  2. Missy, you hit the nail on teh head. I have been anxious about what my future holds – what colledge to attend, what to major in, ect. – and seemingly doubting the faithfulness and sovereignty of the Lord. I had never read that scripture passage before… a slap to my face.

    Thank you for posting this passage of Scritpure and your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

